Life by Kimmy

My life, designed by me.

Idiot Proof Pavlova

I once contemplated having a Blog dedicated to recipes.  It is clearly not for me though.  I get bored too easily and having to write step by step instructional Blog posts would do my head in.  I am not great at that sort of thing.  Firstly, I rarely make up recipes.  I cook a lot and love trawling the internet for inspiration.  However,  I am a bit lazy when I cook and guesstimate quantities and often cook with a bit of this and a bit of that and it works about 75% of the time.  If it turns out wonderful, I haven’t written down what I did so it ends up being a once off.  I prefer to read and drool over other people’s recipe Blogs, the ones who do the genre justice.  Those who test their recipes and take stunning photographs.  Leave it to the professionals I say!

However, I feel the need to share my Idiot Proof Pavlova that I made for our dinner guests tonight.

Pav1

It turned out to be very sweet and delish, with minimal effort and was devoured the minute it hit the table!  It was crunchy and chewy and sticky…all the things a good Pavlova should be!

It is however, not a true traditional Pavlova.  I only used egg whites and sugar, where traditional recipes also use cream of tartar and vinegar…something to do with volume and preventing cracking.  As you can see below, I have a nice big crack in my Pavlova!

Pavcracked

Also, in that crack you might be able to see some brown sticky stuff?? That occurs when you are lazy like me and don’t fully dissolve the sugar into the egg whites.  Once I had stiff peaks I was done!  Lazy baker…

So it works, as you can see but my way is not really the ‘right’ way.  It never usually is.  My mother and I argued about this when I was young.  I wanted to know why just because my way of doing something was different , it was wrong?  I mean if the Pavlova had turned into a disaster, I would have taken a hammer to it and called it an Eton Mess!

Here it is again, a gratuitous creamy close up:

Pav2

Idiot Proof Pavlova.

5 Egg Whites

1 1/2 Cups of Sugar (Caster is best, however I used regular in the above Pavlova)

300 ml Thickened Cream

1/4 cup Icing (confectioner’s) sugar

1 tsp Vanilla Essence

1 Chocolate Bar that will look awesome when smashed and sprinkled.  I used a Peppermint Crisp

  • Beat egg whites to soft peak stage
  • Gradually add in sugar continually  whipping.  The mixture should become thick and glossy.  Once all the sugar is dissolved, or you get bored and figure near enough is good enough, you should have very stiff peaks.
  • Pile up onto a baking paper lined tray that allows room to spread, using a thin spatula or butter knife shape it into a high round dome with a small dip in the top to accommodate the cream.
  • Oh yes, the oven should be pre-heated to around 190 Celsius and turned down to 155 Celsius as soon as the Pavlova goes in.  Bake for around 90 mins.  Once the oven is done, allow to cool in the oven with the door slightly ajar (I wedged mine with a folded tea towel.
  • Once it is completely cool. remove from oven.  Whip cream with vanilla and icing sugar until thick and GENTLY dollop onto the centre of the Pavlova.  As cream is heavy in comparison to the delicate shell, you can get a gross, wet,  Pavlova imploding sound as the entire centre collapses.  Its still just as tasty but quite sad when it happens…
  • Bash chocolate bar on bench or other hard surface and crumble over the cream and voila!

Phew, that was hard!  Safe to say I prefer to link to awesome recipes that create my own!

Here are some of the recipes I have been drooling over lately from some amazing food Bloggers:

Chocolate Covered Katie – Greek Yoghurt Cheesecake

My Whole Food Life – Peanut Butter Cup Granola

Sarah Wilson – Chocolate Peanut Butter Mud  Shake

100 Days of real Food – Recipe Index

(this Blog is worth taking a really thorough look around, they have oodles of great info as well as lots of unprocessed food recipes)

Kimmy xox

 

Question:

Do you have  something that you do in the ‘wrong’ way yet it is YOUR way and so you are perfectly fine with it??

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , .
lawrencewray

Author of 'The Briefcase', 'Money Man' and 'A Five Star Experience of a Lifetime. Just some thoughts on e-publishing and marketing.

My bucket list..in pictures!

I'm gonna do this someday...

Abandon Shell (Leaving False Safety)

A blog about self-improvement, personal development, and suicidal attempts for a better you.

The Compassionate Thread

Art, craft, food & love x

Running on Vegan

Just a gal being vegan, one small humane step at a time

undeaddad

explorations of mindful fatherhood

Harper Faulkner

The story is in the telling.

melbourne writers' social group

By Writers, For Writers

[writing] between friends

a california girl in kansas. a kansas girl in california.

Raising My Rainbow

Adventures in raising a fabulously gender creative son.

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

The 4 A.M. Writer

Writing about writing, life, and other musings

one cool site

WordPress blogging tips tools & tutorials

Life by Kimmy

My life, designed by me.

My Whole Food Life

One family's journey into healthy eating and living

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

